Yellowstone National Park is an American national park located in the western United States, largely in the

northwestern corner of Wyoming and extending into Montana and Idaho. It was established by the 42nd US

Congress with the Yellowstone National Park Protection Act and was signed into law by President Ulysses S. Yellowstone

The park is known for its wildlife and its many geothermal features, most notably the Old Faithful Geyser, which is one

of its most popular. Although it represents a wide variety of biomes, subalpine forest is the most abundant. It is part of

the South Central Rockies Forests ecoregion.While Native Americans have lived in the Yellowstone area for at least 11,000 years,organized

exploration did not begin until the late 1860s, apart from visits by mountain men from the early to mid-19th century. Management and

control of the park originally fell under the jurisdiction of the United States Department of the Interior, which is the Secretary of the

Interior overseeing Columbus Delano Park. However, the US Army was eventually commissioned to oversee the management of Yellowstone for a

period of 30 years between 1886 and 1916. In 1917, the administration of the park was transferred to the National Park Service,

which had been created the previous year. Hundreds of structures have been built and preserved for their

architectural and historical significance, and researchers have examined more than a thousand archaeological sites.