Torres del Paine National Park (Spanish: Parque Nacional Torres del Paine) is a national park encompassing mountains, glaciers, lakes

and rivers in southern Chilean Patagonia. The Cordillera del Paine is the centerpiece of the park. It is located in a transition zone

between the Magellanic Subpolar Forests and the Patagonian Steppes. The park is located 112 km (70 mi) north of Puerto Natales and 312 km

(194 mi) north of Punta Arenas. The park is bordered by Bernardo O'Higgins National Park to the west and Los Glaciares National Park to the

north in the Argentine region. Pine means "blue" in the native Tehuelche (Aionic) language and is pronounced PIE-neh, while Torres means

"tower".Torres del Paine National Park is part of the Sistema Nacional de Arias Silvestres Protegidas del Estado de Chile (National System

of Protected Forest Areas of Chile). In 2013, it measured approximately 181,414 hectares (700 sq mi). It is one of the largest and most

visited parks in Chile. The park receives approximately 252,000 visitors annually, of whom 54% are foreign tourists, who come from many

countries around the world. It is also part of the End of the World route, a tourist scenic route.The park is one of 11 protected areas

of the Magellan Region and Chilean Antarctica (along with four national parks, three national reserves and three national monuments).

Overall, protected forest areas cover about 51% of the land (6,728,744 hectares (25,980 sq mi)) of the area.